Project Description

Solar system. How Big is the Solar System? Size comparison of solar system bodies.

Exploring Our Solar System

Coming to the Solar System it consists of sun, 8 planets consisting of four Terrestrial Planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars), four Gas Giants(Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune, their moons, Asteroids in Asteroid Belt between Mars & Jupiter, Comets and three officially recognized dwarf planets: Pluto, Haumea and Makemake that exist in an icy zone beyond Neptune called the Kuiper Belt, which is also the point of origin for many comets and other leftover stuff.

Size comparison of solar system: If sun is of an average human size

The solar system is located in the Orion Arm of the Milky Way Galaxy. Mass distribution is Sun 99.8% of total mass of solar system, Comets, Satellites and Minor planets are 0.05%, Jupiter 0.10% and all other planets 0.04%. To give you a size Idea on a smaller scale, Consider sun as an average human size than if you walk to 0.4 Km you will find Mercury like the size of a pea. Then at 0.7 Km Venus like the size of a grape than at 1 Km Earth is also about the size of a grape. Then at 1.5 Km Mars like the size of a bean. Then at 5.2 Km Jupiter Like the size of a large grapefruit. Walk more, and at 9.5 Km you will find Saturn like the size of a Small Grapefruit, Uranus and Neptune at 19.5 and 30.1 Km like a lemon, and Pluto at almost 39.5 Km.

The nearest star to solar system Alpha Centauri which is actually 4.37 light-years from the Sun would still be like beyond moon even on this scale of measuring earth at only 1km from the sun.  This size idea of planets is also valid in AU Astronomical Units a distance of measurement equal to 149.6 million Km the mean distance from the center of the earth to the center of the sun. As we know that earth is at 1 AU thus only replace kilometers by the Astronomical unit.

Will come soon!

Will come soon!

Will come soon!